Recipe Testing: Puff Pastry Cushions with Almond Flakes from “Lisbeths”

_DSC6912blog.jpgSometimes, I feel like I want to start baking at once and have my dessert 20 minutes later. No long shopping list, no complicated techniques, no fuss. Just plain good stuff. I want it, I get it.

That exactly what it was like yesterday afternoon when I saw a blog post by Lisbeths suggesting these wonderfully crisp and fluffy Puff Pastry Cushions.

I ran to the fridge to check whether I still had some puff pastry – and started baking only shortly afterwards. All you need is: puff pastry, 1 egg white, a bit of jam, coarse sugar (I used Muscovado sugar, as it is my favourite) and almond flakes.

_DSC6879blog.jpgYou cut rectangles, brush them with the egg white (I mixed it with a bit of quince jam, which I can only recommend) and cover them with almond flakes and sugar. Try not to put anything on the edges in oder to allow the cushions their perfect rise.

SONY DSC

SONY DSC

_DSC6899blog.jpgIf you need more detailed instructions check out Lisbeth’s recipe right here.

I wish happy and speedy baking!

Love,
Bettina.

SONY DSC

Leave a comment